Board of Directors

Officers and Ex Officio Members

  • Pieter G. R. de Villiers, University of the Free State, Bloemfontein, South Africa; President (2016-2017)
  • Bernadette Flanagan,  Spirituality Institute for Research and Education, Dublin, Ireland; Vice President/President-elect (2016-2017)
  • Claire Wolfteich, Boston University, Boston, MA; Past President (2016-2017)
  • Anita Houck, Saint Mary's College, Notre Dame, IN; Secretary-Treasurer (2015-2018)
  • Steven Chase, Pacifica Graduate Institute, Carpinteria, CA; Editor of Spiritus (2015-2019)
  • Francis X. McAloon, Fordham University, NY; Liaison Member (2013-2019)

At-large Directors

  • Gilberto Cavazos-González, Pontificia UniversitĂ  Antonianum, Roma, Italy (2015-2018)
  • Elizabeth Drescher, Santa Clara University, Santa Clara, CA (2014-2017)
  • Douglas S. Hardy, Eastern Nazarene College, Quincy, MA (2016-2019)
  • Francis X. McAloon, Fordham University, NY(2014-2017)
  • C. Vanessa White, Catholic Theological Union, Chicago, IL (2016-2019)
  • Lauren Winner, Duke Divinity School, Durham, NC (2015-2018)

Co-chairs of the AAR Christian Spirituality Group

  • Margaret Benefiel, Shalem Institute for Spiritual Formation, Washington, D.C. (calendar 2015-2018)
  • Glenn Young, Rockhurst University, Kansas City, MO (calendar 2014-2017)

Nominations Committee

  • Colleen Carpenter,  St. Catherine's University, St. Paul, MN (2016-2019)
  • Thom Parrot-Sheffer, Plainfield Congregational Church UCC, Plainfield, IL (2016-2018 (2016-2018)
Coordinators of the Emerging Scholars Group
  • George Faithful, Seton Hall University, South Orange, NJ
  • Shannon M. McAlister, Fordham University, NY

Assisted by Staff from JHUP:

SSCS Board Minutes
2014 meeting
2013 meeting
2012 meeting

Members' Meeting Minutes are listed on the Meetings page.

Updated 1/27/17