SSCS Leadership

Board of Directors


  • Douglas Hardy, Nazarene Theological Seminary, Kansas City, MO; President (2021-2022)
  • Bo Karen LeePrinceton Theological Seminary, Princeton, NJ; Vice President (2021-2022)
  • Barbara Quinn, Boston College School of Theology and Ministry; Past President (2021-2022)
  • Rachel Wheeler, University of Portland, OR; Secretary/Treasurer (2019-2022)

At-large Directors

Ex-officio Members

  • August Higgins, Oblate School of Theology, San Antonio, TX; Emerging Scholars Group Liaison (2021-2022)
  • Diana L. Villegas, Independent Scholar, Colombia; International Relations Committee Liaison (2020-2023)
  • Francis X. McAloon, Fordham University, NY; Spiritus Liaison (2019-2024)
  • Steven Chase, Oblate School of Theology, San Antonio, TX; Editor of Spiritus (2020-2025)


Nominations Committee

International Relations Committee

Coordinators of the Emerging Scholars Group

*  *  *

As a point of shared interest, not formal affiliation) AAR Christian Spirituality Unit Co-chairs:

Meeting Minutes are listed on the Meetings page.